Gorillas and Alligators, Oh My.

The internet has given me a priceless gift in a way I would have never anticipated. I occasionally, albeit briefly, peruse comments online. They reveal the human condition incredibly well!  It is amazing what comes out of the woodwork when an “issue” sparks emotions, isn’t it?  The verbal stones fly fast and furious, and it doesn’t take long to see that we have become a society who has never learned empathy because we are too busy expecting sympathy –

for ourselves.

For how can we ever step into the ache of another’s loss, failure, mistake, or sin when life is all about seeing to our own (deserved) gain, recognition, rights, equality, or special needs-ness??? It seems the result is that Swollen Self can proudly navigate the pond or gorilla pen of another’s story “rightly” –

from the sidelines.

Seeing this is a gift to me because it has dropped me to my knees in deep repentance. I never before realized I could be so stricken with the conviction of MY OWN self-righteous, sinful nature through seeing it come out in others online. Even the inclination toward a “righteous” observation and commentary of others’ glaring lack of grace can take hold of my heart –

right here as I type!!

It reminds me:

“For the whole law is fulfilled in one word: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ But if you bite and devour one another, watch out or you will be consumed by each other.”  – Galatians 5:14-15

Who am I devouring today in my heart?  For it won’t take long to come out in my “righteous” words….

Leave a comment